AIRMAP rules

Reaction score
I just downloaded the AIRMAP app and I gave it a simulated requested flight. At the end there is a section which in this case I selected "Rules that I am following". One of those stated rules was "I will not fly at night". I'm here in the states and my recreational flight was inside Class G airspace. My question is this: Did I miss something? I thought that flying at night was allowed.

Last edited:
If you fly as a hobbyist you can fly at night as long as you have lighting that can be seen up to 3 miles. I have been flying for 3 years and I always fly at night. It's a lot easier to maintain vlos.

Reactions: CPO Coastie
According to Airmap, as a reminder, you can only fly in the daytime. Also, unless I misinterpreted the FAA's new rules, it stated the same. Please tell me I'm wrong, I am not the sharpest tool in the shed.

According to Airmap, as a reminder, you can only fly in the daytime
Airmap doesn't make the rules. The FAA does. You'd be less confused if you followed the FAA's rules here.

Reactions: DroneB
According to Airmap, as a reminder, you can only fly in the daytime. Also, unless I misinterpreted the FAA's new rules, it stated the same. Please tell me I'm wrong, I am not the sharpest tool in the shed.
Check post #4 out by Moss Photography

I know that, I'm a Air Traffic Controller. Thank you.

Technically, Congress makes the rules... ?I’ve never seen where hobbyist can’t fly at night.

How about this case scenario: I’m a 107 pilot, filming a commercial interior 360 tour with my DJI spark, In a no fly zone 1000’ from class D airport, at 10pm... do I need to notify ATC? I’m flying inside a house..... AirMap would not give permission. I fly because the ATC does not regulate the “airspace” inside a house...

do I need to notify ATC?
No. The FAA does not regulates indoor flights.