Air Encoder Error (0xa)

Reaction score
Hello All,

Quadcopter newbie here. I finally got time to get my new Phantom 4 out of the box today. I played with the flight simulator for a few minutes before going live. Went outside and put it in beginner mode and figured I'd practice take off and landings and small maneuvers until the battery ran down to get a feel for this thing. Anyway, on my very first landing as soon as it touches down I get this error message. Air Encoder Error (0xa). Any guidance to resolve this issue whatever it means?

I cannot find anything P4 related, but this thread on the DJI P3 forum shows it's related to the camera.

Did you install the latest firmware? If not, try that. If you already did that, then head out for another flight and see if that error continues to appear. If so, then you probably need to contact DJI support.

I cannot find anything P4 related, but this thread on the DJI P3 forum shows it's related to the camera.

Did you install the latest firmware? If not, try that. If you already did that, then head out for another flight and see if that error continues to appear. If so, then you probably need to contact DJI support.

Thanks for the reply. I did see that thread when searching for clues. I did try to reload the firmware using the Assistant app but, it fails every time at about 30%. And I also forgot to mention in my OP that the P4 will not fly since this error occurred. Looks like I need to contact support. :-(

Thanks for the reply. I did see that thread when searching for clues. I did try to reload the firmware using the Assistant app but, it fails every time at about 30%. And I also forgot to mention in my OP that the P4 will not fly since this error occurred. Looks like I need to contact support. :-(
I had similar problems with the Assistant app, so I tried a different PC (an old laptop, actually), and it worked fine.