Advise needed on which Phantom

Reaction score
I am looking to enter the hobby and have been following these boards and doing research for several weeks. I am still undecided if I should get the Vision+ or the Phantom 2 and install my own fpv. 

I will be using my phantom purely for recreational fun. I am not a professional or even amateur photographer by any means. I don't care a lot about video quality as I'd only be posting videos to Facebook. What I do want is a fun to fly phantom with a good FPV system that has good range. My family owns some land in a fairly remote place along a river so it will be fun to fly along the property looking at wildlife. 

So, my main concern: is the Vision+ going to give me as good (or close) of an experience for fun FPV flying as a phantom 2 with dedicated FPV system? The wifi aspect scares me a little. Will the range be comparable for the Vision+ and a radio signal FPV? (leaning towards Boscam brand) How does the picture quality compare? I read one review saying the FPV picture on the Vision 2+ was laggy making it hard to fly by FPV. Is it easy to see on the phone while flying? Or is the fpv display on the phone mainly used only for framing shots? I would like the option to use fpv goggles eventually, is that possible with the Vision+? How does flight time compare between the vision+ and a phantom 2 with FPV display. I would assume the vision+ carries less weight and would get better flight time.

What I like about the vision+ is the simplicity and the cheaper price tag. I really have no use for a gopro for anything else so spending the extra money is hard to justify. Also, as I have very limited experience with RC aircraft, the out of the box simplicity of the Vision+ is very appealing for me as I wouldn't have to piece together and assemble the fpv system myself.

Any advise anyone could give would be greatly appreciated.