4k v 1080p

Reaction score
My computer just isn't fit for handling 4k at any fps. What is the best alternative resolution to this? I'm just a hobbyist flyer. I'm Guessing it will be 1080p? Is the 1080p on the P4P better than the P4 and the P3 series, (used to have a P3A) I'm usuing Premiere Pro at the minute.

Thanks

1080p is what most people will be watching at (30fps in the U.S., 25fps in most of Europe), so that would be my vote.

But if you've spent the money on something as nice as the P4P and its awesome camera, my second recommendation would be to upgrade your computer ASAP to take advantage of the 4K capability. You can get a very capable laptop for under $500, assuming we're talking PC.

What are the specs of your computer? Even upgrading your RAM might help.

Are you on Windows?
I had also problems but it wasn't the PC but missing graphic power. I only had on-board Intel Graphics.
Purchasing a good graphic card solved it.
I found this site actually helpful to figure out the systems limits. Anything in 4K and HEVC I couldn't view before I made changes:
Jellyfish Bitrate Test Files

My computer is pretty new but pretty basic I think. Its a Lenovo Ideacentre All in one. 2TB HDD 8gb RAM. Yea windows 10 I'm running.

It doesn't look like you will be able to upgrade your computer without completely replacing it. I guess you will have to find the best resolution that your computer will handle.

I just started working with 4K video and I found that I had to upgrade my video card and the amount of ram in my system. Fortunately I had built my system with upgrades in mind and I already had a skylake i7 processor.

The 1080 is really good. I started shooting in 1080 because my phone can handle the videos better.

What about 2.7k? I shoot everything in 2.7k because I'm down-rendering to 1080p anyway. Shooting at over 1080p if you can still gives a better final render in 1080p.

Reactions: AlanTheBeast
When you say "handling 4K" is for PLAYBACK or EDITING?