4K camera on an advance phantom

Reaction score
I had bought a p3 pro and damaged the gimbal. I recently bought a p3 advanced with just the HD Camera which it comes with. Does anyone know if I can just swap out the cameras themselves Just the camera lens. Looks like it would be one screw that the camera is bolted to the arm and the ribbon cable of course. Any thoughts if this is possible and will work. Thank. You

Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app

That is fine provided you have to load the FW for the advance version on both the quadcopter and the RC

Fw for advanced or pro should be loaded because it would basically be a pro or am I wrong?

I've never seen anyone swap just the camera. Many people have swapped the camera & gimbal though.

Yes. That is my problem. I have a damaged gimbal assembly from a 4K but the camera is ok. Just not the all the arms and motors. I want to put just the camera on the advanced phantom

I don't think it'll work since the gimbals are different.

I understand. I don't think it's a good idea.

I know the video transmission is different for the two gimbals however I don't know if that also means the sensors are different.

Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk

You can swap the entire gimbal assembly between the pro and advanced but you CANNOT swap a pro bird with a 4K or standard camera.

Once you have swapped your advanced gimbal to your pro bird or vice versa you must reinstall the firmware associated with the gimbal. For example if you put a pro camera on an advanced aircraft .. That bird is now a pro & must have the pro firmware installed.
The gimbal is what governs what type of aircraft it is and what firmware can be loaded.

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app

As others have suggested im going to call not possible on this one. The standard camera has a panasonic sensor (4k and pro is sony exmor (according to DJI specs). There is also at keast one extra processing chip on the 4k gimble board.