300-400m from Home Point When....

Reaction score
Suddenly you lose all GPS and the drone switches to ATTI mode. The 20Km/hr winds are carrying your drone further and further away from your position. Then... your app/mobile crashes. You still have control over the drone with your remote but it soon may get out of range if you dont act quickly. What would you do????

A few weeks ago I started practicing flying without GPS and one of the difficulties I had was knowing which way the drone was facing. Think the front was facing me I pressed the controller Right stick forward. The drone shot to the left and further away from me. Recovery was easy because all I had to do was look at my app and knew what steps I needed to take to turn my drone and fly it back to my location. It then occurred to me that without the use of the app this would have been very hard especially if the drone was but a small dot in the distance.

I fly a P3S and if I ever encounter the above scenario especially near the end of its maximum range I would hope I take the correct action(s). Your experience/input would be appreciated.

This is one reason I believe learning to fly without the app the first week is beneficial.

It's a dot in the sky and you don't know where it's aiming. Move forward with the right stick. If it goes to the left, move the left stick to the left a bit. If it goes to the right, move the left stick to the right a bit.

Repeat. Keep doing it until it's coming towards home.

There's a youtube on this somewhere...

Reactions: BourgeoisSJC
Seems to be a lot of this lately losing satellites.