$125 F330 Quadcopter - Is this too good to be true?

Reaction score
Hi Everybody,

This is my first post on this forum, and I'm pretty new to the quadcopter world. A family member of mine just recently got a DJI Phantom 2 Vision, and is letting me borrow it for a while. Anyways, I've started looking online and discovered some insane FPV flying videos. The dilemma with the Phantom is that (in my opinion), it's a little too expensive to crash doing close-quarters FPV flying.

After some more searching and coming across this website, I feel like the F330 would be a perfect fit for the type of flying I want to do. After doing some more searching I found this article on fpvcentral.net:

http://fpvcentral.net/2013/03/high-perf ... ping-list/

The grand total of the quad was, astoundingly, only $125. Of course this is excluding a GPS system. So I guess my question is, are the parts provided in this article "quality"? Are DJI parts significantly better than others? For those who have an F330, how much did your entire build cost?

Thanks in advanced for any thoughts, suggestions, or ideas!
Jack

You pretty much get what you pay for. No receiver or transmitter means you will stick at least another hundred in it for a very basic one (Devo 7 or similar). No GPS or OSD. Performance and flight time would be interesting and I suspect not fantastic (but I could be wrong). So, $250 at least.

For $350 you can pick up a P1 or a Blade ($420 for that) that will do much more. You won't have made it, though.

Overall, it looks interesting and might be a way to satisfy your curiosity but if you haven't flown a Phantom or similar, you might want to find someone who will at least show you what they are like. I think one reason Phantom owners like them is that they are so easy to fly and capable of several things. Also, there is a huge user base and you can find many people to help you through any issues.