Re: Do you attach a cord to your Phantom

Thought about it, but a long enough cord would be too heavy and can get ensnared.

Yep its serious. Could be especially useful in high density areas where the potential for fly away is higher and more damaging.

How heavy is a ball of string? Think it would be light enough.

I realise it sounds a bit extreme.

Please don't do that. Asking for trouble.

It's not a kite....

I can only see that leading to all manors of BAD!

Trees, overhead cables, if you fly over a road could snag a car and go for a long ride... just see this ending in :shock: :eek: :cry: :cry: :oops:

Think of the physics and risks of this.

Consider the weight of the string, how you could maintain it's position (tautness, etc) as you move around, the risk of it getting tangled up on trees, other objects and even your propellers.

Etc.

Fairly good repsosne. Thanks

I'm a total novice when it comes to DJI Phantoms; however, instead of attaching a piece of string to your DJI, has anyone considered attaching an iPhone, so if your DJI goes missing you could use the 'Find My iPhone' app to find both your DJI and iPhone?

Yelgir said:
I'm a total novice when it comes to DJI Phantoms; however, instead of attaching a piece of string to your DJI, has anyone considered attaching an iPhone, so if your DJI goes missing you could use the 'Find My iPhone' app to find both your DJI and iPhone?

look up 'gps trackers', there's been numerous threads on those.

They're lighter, cheaper, lasts a whole lot longer, can work on SMS (doesn't need data coverage).

Another hint, to do a search on this site, go to google and use this format:

site:phantompilots.com your search here

http://bit.ly/JNh7AH

It works better than the default search engine.

There is a thread called track that drone that has quite a discussion on this subject of tracking in the event of a flyaway

Please post a video when you crash ! I want to see it. :lol: