1000mw system for Phantom V1.2

Reaction score
I have looked at all 13 pages of this thread and if the answer is there I missed it. I was advised by a good friend to get no less then 1000mw fpv system and I was wondering if anyone has one, how they like it. If it works great I would be interested in knowing what I parts are needed and any other tips to get this started. I am hoping in the end to have a system that has perhaps both goggles and a tablet so I can take a passenger for a flight.

I'm new to fpv but why 1000mw??? You can get insane ranges out of 600 and smaller even. I have seen video of guys on 250mw get better than a mile away

chuddly said:
I'm new to fpv but why 1000mw??? You can get insane ranges out of 600 and smaller even. I have seen video of guys on 250mw get better than a mile away

I have a friend who has been doing this for awhile and he told me to get no less then 1000mw. He said the price savings isn't that much and with the correct antennas etc I could get much better range then 600mw. He is not available for me to get specifics and as I try and find a tried and true 1000mw system I can see the issue. I am going to take a harder look at the 600mw systems and see what I can figure out.

All the guys will tell you that antenna are more important than anything. Also from what I'm told the 1000 will just chew harder on an already more used battery

I am thinking that perhaps I should just see what is a good working setup that will give me a couple km range and be happy that I can learn from this. and not worry about how much wattage but hope you guys can tell me from experience what works without me directing you.

I am trying to figure out the transmitter and receiver and from what I am reading it is a good idea to get parts made by the same people. The Black Pearl screen and fat shark goggles both seem to be very good parts if paired with the correct antenna's and transmitters. I have received this advice