100% Ready 24/7

BigAl07

Administrator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Reaction score
I'm new to Phantoms.. so new I don't even have my P3P yet (it's in the mail LOL). Hopefully I'll have it in hand Tuesday/Wed of next week.

I work heavily with SAR here locally (EMS and LE both) and it's a constant challenge to keep things ready 24/7. Basically I have to keep very strict records of my battery cycles and make sure I only have 1 battery at 100% mission ready and after a couple of days I discharge that one and get another one (sometimes two) fully charged and mission ready. Worse case if I go to fly with only one or two batteries full but have a couple of others charging on the way and while I'm flying.

What I'm wondering is this.... is anyone able to keep your aircraft mission ready 24/7? How do the batteries "self maintain" themselves when stored at full capacity? This will be my first aircraft with "Smart Batteries" so it's a whole new ballgame for me.

With the aircraft I'm currently flying (non-DJI) I have to manually discharge the flight batteries fairly soon if I'm not flying the next day or two. With (nine) batteries I rotate them around the best I can but I'm hoping with Smart Batteries this will be a little bit easier.

Also I'm seriously thinking about getting the Phantom 3 - 3 Port Battery + Remote Charger

Am I being delusional or is this realistic?

Allen

With the aircraft I'm currently flying (non-DJI) I have to manually discharge the flight batteries fairly soon if I'm not flying the next day or two.
By default, the batteries are programmed to start discharging to a safe storage level after 10 days. That discharge process takes about 2 days to complete. In the DJI GO app, you can decrease that time period. I have mine set to 2 days. Since this setting is stored on the battery, you'll need to insert each battery into your Phantom to set this setting.

What I'm wondering is this.... is anyone able to keep your aircraft mission ready 24/7?